Cart 0

Death of Ellen Greenberg

January 26, 2011. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Ellen Greenberg was a 27 year old teacher who was engaged to 28 year old Sam Goldberg. He was a producer for a local news affiliate. But after a half an hour or so at the gym, Sam returned to the couple's apartment to find the swing bolt latched. He couldn't get in. After nearly thirty minutes of texting Ellen with no replies, he sought help from a security officer who declined to assist Sam in breaking through the door. When Sam did break through, he found Ellen in the kitchen and unresponsive. He called 911. It was discovered that Ellen had been stabbed to death, but who could have stabbed a woman when her apartment was locked from the inside? Police immediately suspected a suicide, but the first autopsy report and independent analysis suspected foul play. Is this a case reminiscent of a John Dickson Carr novel? Or is there evidence available to solve this mystery?

https://www.philly.com/crime/a/ellen-greenberg-death-suicide-homicide-philadelphia-m ystery-20190316.html 

Pennsylvania State Coroner’s Association Slide Show How, and Who Can, Certify Death https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.pacnp.org/resource/resmgr/imported/CORONERS.pdf 

Montgomery News, PA, 2/2/2011 http://www.montgomerynews.com/roxreview/news/police-consider-manayunk-death-su spicious-not-homicide/article_3eb75a74-4f3c-5cc2-b9a2-5494f885c1c6.html 

PA Channel 6, January 30, 2011 https://6abc.com/archive/7926882/ 

PA NBC Breaking News, 1/26/2011 https://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/breaking/Woman-Stabbed-Manayunk-1147696 59.html?amp=y 

PA CBS 1/31/2011 https://www.cbsnews.com/news/homicide-or-suicide-conflicting-findings-arise-in-stabbi ng-death-of-pa-teacher/ 

Obituary, Penn Live http://obits.pennlive.com/obituaries/pennlive/obituary.aspx?n=ellen-rae-greenberg&pid =148142563& 

Wedding Announcement, Sam Goldberg and Caroline Shnay https://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/12/fashion/weddings/caroline-shnay-samuel-goldb erg.html 

The Western Star https://www.thewesternstar.com/news/world/parents-of-pennsylvania-woman-stabbed- 20-times-want-answers-after-death-ruled-suicide-296215/ 

Drug Interactions, Ambien and Klonipin https://www.drugs.com/drug-interactions/ambien-with-klonopin-2333-1544-703-357.ht ml 

Philadelphia Department of Public Health https://www.phila.gov/departments/department-of-public-health/ 

Daily Mail, UK, March 2019 https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6861933/amp/Bride-27-stabbed-ten-times-ne ck-locked-apartment-death-ruled-SUICIDE.html 

WHYY Radio, Feb 7, 2011 https://whyy.org/articles/greenberg/ 

Juniata Public School Reviews: https://www.publicschoolreview.com/juniata-park-academy-profile 

https://juniatapark.philasd.org 

https://www.schooldigger.com/go/PA/schools/1899006123/school.aspx 

Suicide Rates by Occupation: CNN report https://www.cnn.com/2018/11/15/health/occupational-suicide-rate-cdc-study/index.ht ml 

Suicide Rates by Occupation: direct from CDC https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/67/wr/mm6745a1.htm 

NPR: Suicide rates rising faster among women https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2018/06/14/619338703/u-s-suicides-rates- are-rising-faster-among-women-than-men 

Patterns of Suicide: men v women https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17558610/ 

https://www.forensicpsychologyonline.com/what-is-a-psychological-autopsy/ 

Interior of Venice Loft Apartments (theirs was a two-bedroom) https://www.veniceloftsapts.com/philadelphia/venice-lofts/photos/ 

Cyril H Wecht, an attorney AND a medical doctor. http://www.cyrilwecht.com/about.php 

The Henry Lee Institute http://www.henryleeinstitute.com/about/dr-henry-lee/ 

NY Times article about Henry Lee https://www.nytimes.com/2000/04/23/nyregion/dr-lee-the-man-with-all-the-clues.html 

Walter Cohen https://www.obermayer.com/our-team/walter-cohen/ 

Ellen Greenberg, Legacy.com https://www.legacy.com/guestbooks/philly/ellen-rae-greenberg-condolences/14814256 3 Philly Winter Weather, 2011 https://www.philly.com/philly/blogs/phillylists/Top-6-Winters-for-School-Closings.html 

https://www.timeanddate.com/weather/usa/philadelphia/historic?month=12&year=201 0 Richard Goldberg’s Real Estate page https://www.thegoldberggroup.net/ListingDetails/1820-ALOHA-LN-GLADWYNE-PA-1903 5/1001902128 

Why some men kill their wives https://www.aetv.com/real-crime/the-twisted-reasons-why-some-husbands-kill-their-wi ves 

The Atlantic: Nearly Half of all Women Murdered are Killed by their Romantic Partners https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2017/07/homicides-women/534306/ 

Clinical Pharmacology for Zolpidem https://www.rxlist.com/ambien-drug.htm#clinpharm 

https://www.forensicmag.com/article/2013/10/reviewing-and-comprehending-autopsy- reports 

Reading a Toxicology report - from a Toxicology Lawyer https://www.okorieokorocha.com/teasing-out-the-details/ 

To triple-check the accuracy of the tox report: https://www.in.gov/isdt/files/Screen-conf-list-2014-1pg.pdf 

44 Ambien Stories that will creep you out https://thoughtcatalog.com/eric-redding/2016/01/44-people-share-their-crazy-and-dang erous-ambien-horror-stories/ 

Suicide or Homicide: a case study https://projects.nfstc.org/trace/docs/Trace%20Presentations%20CD-2/Krauss.pdf 

Practical Homicide, one page site: http://www.practicalhomicide.com/Research/7mistakes.htm